UPDATE: Goodwill Car Donations is currently accepting vehicle donations. Call 866-233-8586 to schedule an unattended FREE pickup. To learn what actions we are taking to ensure you are protected when you donate a vehicle to Goodwill Car Donations, please click here.

How To Sign Your North Carolina Title

The person (or persons)* listed on the front of the title must follow these steps, unless otherwise noted:

  1. North Carolina titles must be notarized. Only sign the title in the presence of a notary public.
  2. Sign your name (or names)* on the back of the title where it says “Seller(s) Signature(s)”.
  3. Print your name (or names)* on the back of the title where it says “Seller(s) Hand Printed Name(s)”.
  4. For vehicles less than 10 years old, you must include an odometer disclosure statement reflecting the current odometer reading.

To help with your donation, we have showcased the various North Carolina vehicle titles below as well as annotated on each title where to print and sign your name. To enlarge an image, simply click on the image. Questions? Give one of our friendly Title Clerks a call at (866) 233-8586.

NC Certificate of Title (MVR 191)- Front
NC Certificate of Title (MVR 191)- Reverse
NC Certificate of Title (MVR 191, 1-00)- Front
NC Certificate of Title (MVR 191, 1-00)- Reverse
NC Certificate of Title (MVR 191, 1-13)- Front
NC Certificate of Title (MVR 191, 1-13)- Reverse
NC Certificate of Title (MVR 191, 5-07)- Front
NC Certificate of Title (MVR 191, 5-07)- Reverse
NC Certificate of Title (MVR 191, 6-06)- Front
NC Certificate of Title (MVR 191, 6-06)- Reverse
NC Certificate of Title (MVR 191, 6-99)- Front
NC Certificate of Title (MVR 191, 6-99)- Reverse
NC Certificate of Title (MVR 191, 10-99)- Front
NC Certificate of Title (MVR 191, 10-99)- Reverse
NC Certificate of Title (MVR 191, 11-01)- Front
NC Certificate of Title (MVR 191, 11-01)- Reverse
NC Certificate of Title for Vessel (4-11)- Front
NC Certificate of Title for Vessel (4-11)- Reverse
NC Certificate of Title for Vessel (10-13)- Front
NC Certificate of Title for Vessel (10-13)- Reverse
NC Certificate of Title for Vessel (11-08)- Front
NC Certificate of Title for Vessel (11-08)- Reverse
NC Certificate of Title for Vessel (2000)- Front
NC Certificate of Title for Vessel (2000)- Reverse

Note: Actual title designs may vary slightly from the images shown above.

North Carolina Titling Information:

  1. All vehicles must be titled, except construction equipment and implements of husbandry.
  2. Motorcycles must be titled. Moped are not titled.
  3. Effective January 1, 2007, anyone who purchases or transfers a motorized vessel or sailboat 14 feet or longer or who owns a personal watercraft (jet ski), is required to title the vessel. Vessels documented with the Coast Guard are not titled. Boat trailers are titled through the DMV as motor vehicles.
  4. Motorhomes are defined as motor vehicles under North Carolina statute and must be titled.
  5. Snowmobiles, off-road vehicles, and all-terrain vehicles (ATVs) are not subject to titling.
  6. An odometer disclosure statement reflecting the odometer reading is required for all title transfers for vehicles less than 10 years old.

*For Multiple Owners:

If there is more than one owner listed on the title, one or both must sign it depending on how the names appear. See the below chart for details.

Remember, the name used to sign the title must match the name shown on the title exactly. Therefore, always remember to print/sign your name exactly as it is shown on the title.

John Doe OR Jane Doe

If “OR” is present between the names, only one of the owners must sign the title.

John Doe AND/OR Jane Doe

If “AND/OR” is present between the names, both owners must sign the title.

John Doe AND Jane Doe

If “AND” is present between the names, both owners must sign the title.

John Doe Jane Doe

If there is nothing present between the names, both owners must sign the title.

Please take note to adhere to the below instructions so as not to void your title.

  • Do not use markers or pencils. Only blue or black pen is allowed.
  • Do not cross out or strikethrough any text or writing.
  • Do not use white-out or similar substance.
  • Do not rip, tear, or tape the title.
  • Do not doodle on the title.

Still have questions? Feel free to give us a call at (866) 233-8586.